Back to the drugs

Does that feel like a constant saying to anyone but me? “Back to the drugs”

I stopped the Savella and went to the Dr, completely excited about the S.H.I.N.E protocol I did so much research on and was so excited to start! As usual…I was completely let down by the so called Doctor. “Fibromyalgia is just so hard to treat because everyone is different, I recommend you go back on the Savella and stay with it for awhile longer”

The Savella drug rep had probably recently been by to see her as she pushed the sample triton packet for me to start it up again. I politely declined, through pushing back the tears and left her office.

I just sat in the car and cried. All I wanted was some tests for vitamin levels and a few other things. I didn’t ask for her to heal me. I didn’t ask her to do anything really, check some boxes on a form and sign it. Simple. I could even read the results on my own. This isn’t my first time, lady.

I really just wanted to march back up to her office and say ‘look B*&^H…you don’t have to deal with this crap every day of your life so it’s easy for you to brush me off and push some damn pill on me, being in constant pain sucks!’ If only I had the cajones. hahaha!

So back on the Savella with the dizzy spells and the spinning eyes and the ever present, imaginary earthquakes. On the upside it’s as though I’m on my very own private roller coaster.

I would still recommend FMS sufferers try it, if covered well by insurance and have access to it, especially if you can get the trial dose from your Dr. It supposedly doesn’t affect everyone the same way, imagine that. The pain level is definitely decreased which is always a wonderful thing!

I’d love to hear anyone’s comments or feedback on Savella or the S.H.I.N.E protocol!

About fibrorelief

I was diagnosed with FMS, IBS and CFS 3 yrs ago and after trying all the medications, I've been determined to find relief naturally. View all posts by fibrorelief

6 responses to “Back to the drugs

  • myfibroexperience

    I have been on Savella for over a year now and it has reduced my pain levels. Now I am experiencing the fact that drugs stop working on me for some reason. I have never heard of the SHINE protocol? Do tell

    • fibrorelief

      I think I have a blog about the S.H.I.N.E protocol but you cant find it, you can google it…It’s well worth the reading! Dr. Tietelbaum had fibro himself and he wrote quite a few books that you may be able to find at your library that are also worth reading. I am working on finding a Dr to help me get all of the testing he feels is necessary. 95% success rate has to say something!

  • Eelia

    I found it and am intrigued but having just moved and the doctors here are like what you described in your post. These doctors are providing a service and should comply with us patients/Customers!! argh! I will try to see if they will do it but after 15 yrs of trying I am not that hopeful!

    • fibrorelief

      Hi Eelia, this is so stressful, isn’t it? I’ve just changed Dr’s for the 3rd time in 6 months. I WILL find one that will treat me like a human and that will help me do what I want to deal with MY syndrome! I miss my old Dr so very much, but like you I moved. Keep looking…the internet is amazing help and I have spent countless hours and made countless calls but I hope it will be worth it in the end. Also, I’ve found that if you call and ask to have an interview with the Dr either by phone or in person it helps save you a co-pay just to find out that he/she won’t do anything you want anyway! 🙂 good luck to you!

  • Brooke Powell

    Im desperate! I cant find relieve from the pain for just one moment, one moment is all Im asking for at this time. Fibromyalgia has taken me over and Im ready to move on to the next life. It will be extremely hard saying goodbyes to my amazing and loving husband, and our 9 year old son. I cant do this anymore. Im ALWAYS in pain and my last visit with my pain Dr. I told him I needed a few extra pain pills cuz this isnt cutting it. He said, “Theres nothing really more that I can do for you. Just try and lower your dosage of pills cuz thats the clinics goal!” WTF I dont get it. Im dying and think about dying everyday to escape the godawful pain! Please help me find a dr in utah that will listen and believe me when I say its fibro and not think im there as a junkie for pills! Im done and ready for the next chapter of my life! Im not strong enough for this anymore! -Brooke

    • fibrorelief

      Brooke,
      What part of Utah do you live in? I’m MORE than happy to help you find a Dr that knows something about FMS. Have you tried acupuncture? Find a school or someone that offers a sliding fee for this service to help with the costs. Acupuncture helps so much!! Please see my post about supplements too, are you taking any? I’m so sad to hear you say you are ready to move on to the next life due to your pain. Please don’t let it come to that. Keep trying to find what will help you! Pain pills will NOT HELP, they only mask the problem and for a very short time, as you know! Have you tried Savella yet?
      There is a Fibromyalgia center in Layton Utah and Saint George. Have you found some support groups yet? Look for ones you can attend and ones online. They area HUGE help to locate a good Doctor and they are out there, you just have to keep looking. I promise. Try going to the National Fibromyalgia Association website and ask them for a referral to a fibro-friendly rheumotologist in your area. Ask for labwork to be done when you get to a new Dr. Unfortunately, you have to be well versed and have your own agenda when it comes to FMS then you have to be sure the Dr is working for YOU to get better. You are in control of your health, don’t let it control you. You’re strong enough, we all are!
      xoxox

Leave a Reply

