exercise, exercise, exercise-ugh!

OH how I hate that word!!!!!!!!! If I hear one more person tell me that’s all I need to feel better, they will get poked in the eye! I promise!

We’ve all heard this from so many people. We all complain about it and we all know that if those ‘helpful’ folks could feel how we feel for one single day they would never ever tell us that again. But they can’t and hopefully they never have to.

However I have to admit that since I started the yoga months ago I do have many more good days than bad. Yes, i am giving yoga credit for this. I don’t consider it exercise because I just don’t want to. stubborn..yes! I think of it more as my tool to feel better. It makes it easier for me to make myself do it and it doesn’t sound so painful and scary that way! haha! Whatever we need to get us through the day, right?!

I LOVE my yoga…I find myself doing it in the shower because it feels so good under the hot water! I find myself stretching while doing the dishes…yoga? maybe not specifically, but really it’s all the same to me because it makes me feel better! Yoga after all, is just stretching in different poses. I find myself doing it while waiting my turn to play wii. I find myself doing it in bed! No…it will NOT cure me, I know that. No, it will NOT make my super bad days better. But like I said, I do believe it’s given me more good days and in my book that is SO well worth it!

I ride my bike because I enjoy it. Yes, its exercise and of course I know that, but I don’t set out to ride my bike because I NEED TO EXERCISE. I do it because I enjoy it, it feels good. Even on super bad days when I don’t enjoy anything, I will make myself get up for 5 minutes and do as much light stretching as I can because I know that if I choose to lay here and not move instead, I may have to do that another day too.

My point of this blog is to say that even though we KNOW we NEED to exercise we won’t do it because we can’t do it like everyone else. If we find something that is easier on our bodies and is actually enjoyable then we probably are going to be more inclined to do that regularly. So today try something new…any activity that could make you feel better. Walk, ride you bike around the block (just around the block if that’s all you can do), walk on the beach for a few minutes if you have that luxury, walk the dog just a little bit further and a little bit faster if you can, streeeeetch because your body will thank you for this one, click the yoga link on my page it’s super easy to do, reach over and touch your toes…or at least try, reach up to the sky as tall as you can, it feels good, anything…do anything for 5 minutes. Then tomorrow try 10 minutes if you can…and so on and so forth. And when you have a bad day and have go back to only 5 minutes, SO WHAT?! 5 minutes is better than none!

don’t ‘exercise’ just make yourself feel better!

About fibrorelief

I was diagnosed with FMS, IBS and CFS 3 yrs ago and after trying all the medications, I've been determined to find relief naturally. View all posts by fibrorelief

One response to “exercise, exercise, exercise-ugh!

  • twinmommy2

    I was recently diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. My symptoms have progressively gotten worse. I was in my best health in 2006 and in 2007 had an injury and it spiraled from then. I have seen probably 15 doctors and I really didn’t want this diagnosis because people don’t really acknowledge this disorder. Tried all meds and nothing worked. Exercise and diet are the only things that I have to contain this beast. But getting back in the routine of exercise has been a battle definitely. To better health.

Leave a Reply

