I’m in a whirlwind….

Looking for a job just sucks. The economy, the fibro, the crazy interview questions, the even nuttier people giving the interviews. It just sucks. I have never in my life had such a hard time finding a job. I’m honestly debating starting a new blog about my interviews and the insanity that I’ve gone through in the last year.

Sometimes I wonder if they google my name and find my fibro stuff. I guess I should have used an alias in some places. Too late now. It’s out on the internet, there’s no getting it back now! haha

I had an interview this morning at 10am. I felt like pure hell when I woke up this morning and honestly contemplated rescheduling, but reminded myself I only have 2 weeks to find a job so I made myself get up, get in the warm shower, did some stretches and proceeded to prepare myself for yet another grueling interview. It took me over an hour to get ready and feel even remotely good enough to go.ย  I pushed through the pain, the intense swollen feeling and the fibro fog, drove downtown, put my $2 in the meter and walked to the office. Five minutes later it was over. Yes literally, FIVE minutes. Why bother?!

If I’da stayed in bed instead, I’d feel a whole lot better right now. I’m waiting on calls from 3 different companies who all claimed to be making a decision last week. I’ve emailed, called and now am just still waiting, incredibly impatiently. I’m in a whirlwind.

A whirlwind of emotions about going back to work full time, about needing another car if I work too far away, about calling in sick to a new job, just a general, nasty, full of sand, whirlwind.

It WILL get better! It always does, even if only for a short time. I continually remind myself that the whirlwind will again stop and that life will look normal again someday, soon I hope!

About fibrorelief

I was diagnosed with FMS, IBS and CFS 3 yrs ago and after trying all the medications, I've been determined to find relief naturally. View all posts by fibrorelief

6 responses to “I’m in a whirlwind….

  • hibernationnow

    5 minute is ridiculous! what kind of job was it.? my husband has been out of work for 16 months and he has stories too that would make u go crazy. years ago before kids and fibro i used to interview for different companies. if u have any questions, feel free to ask. feel better and GOOD LUCK. Laurie

    • fibrorelief

      Thanks Laurie! Yes it was indeed ridiculous! It was an Admin for a CPA firm. I didn’t want the job anyway. They had a big dog in the smallest office I’ve ever stepped foot in and you literally had to shimmy down the hall. No thanks. I don’t need added stress, frustration or a way to have an accident! I do all that fine on my own! haha!

  • Mariann

    Sending good thoughts and prayers your way. I give you
    a lot of credit. With my age and the fibro, there is no
    job for me. I used to work in geriatrics, health care.
    Good luck kiddo..!

    • fibrorelief

      Thank you very much, I feel I’m going to need those good thoughts and prayers! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Somedays I wish I never had to work again, because of the fibro. But somedays I miss it so much that it makes me crazy!

  • Kronic

    Hi, Leana…

    As someone who joined the ‘WordPress Blog-a-week challenge’, I receive daily emails with topic suggestions. Yesterday’s topic was “When have you witnessed bravery?”
    I’d have to say your story about looking for a full-time job while dealing with fibro qualifies big time in my book!

    People who don’t have fibro just don’t get it, but those of us who do… well, we know only too well.

    One day at a time… or one minute at a time, if need be. And one five minute interview at a time when necessary (unbelievable :-/ )

    You go, girl! ๐Ÿ™‚
    -Debi

Leave a Reply

