icicles on my body

Ok so I’m not in the coldest place on earth, but sometimes I sure feel like it! 40 degrees isn’t cold, I know this, I came from Colorado! But last night I felt like I was living in Alaska!

Heating pad under me and a heating blanket on top of me, my arm was out of the blanket for only a few short minutes but the minute she touched it, it felt like a huge icicle that shattered with the touch. I even visualized it, stuck to the side of my body, shattering into tiny little ice pieces all over my bed. Ridiculous.

My feet often feel the same way. Freezing cold and if I dare to step on them, wrapped up in their warm, cozy socks, they too will shatter. They don’t of course, but the incredible feeling that they will is painful and overpowering sometimes.

And then because you don’t feel quite crazy enough…you wake up in the middle of the night (if you’re lucky to be sleeping that is) and find yourself drenched in sweat from head to toe, when just an hour ago you were freezing to the bone. So you kick off the heating blanket and remove the socks and long sleeve shirt and prepare to start all over with the cold when you wake up again in an hour or so.

Fibro is a mean beast and does the most crazy, outlandish things to us and it sucks!

Maybe we are all just super heroes in training…like Mr. Freeze here! hahaha! Hey…anything’s possible!

About fibrorelief

I was diagnosed with FMS, IBS and CFS 3 yrs ago and after trying all the medications, I've been determined to find relief naturally. View all posts by fibrorelief

2 responses to “icicles on my body

  • Mariann

    Wow… I hear you. We’ve had temps in the low 16 last night (for Tx.) I’m cold to the core, and hurting. I haven’t hurt like this since before my diagnosis. I just feel awful. My slow cooker has been burning rubber, making soups/chilli’s, and making breads with the oven going. I’m truly froze…I told hubs, we are back in Minnesota !!!!

    • fibrorelief

      I wish you warm days coming your way very soon! You may already do this too, but I find those little ‘hand warmers’ at the dollar store and I put them everywhere, when I can’t be on a heating pad or under a blanket. I literally strap them to my body with an ace bandage! I don’t care if I look bulky, it helps with the pain! 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

