supplements

So I talk about doing things naturally alot, but somehow I have never done a blog about the supplements that I take. I do talk about them here and there, but thought maybe I’d do a blog dedicated only to them, since they really do seem to be very important in my pain levels and living the best life I can with Fibromyalgia.

I have tried many many different supplements over the years but I always kept going back to just a couple that worked well for me. Now we all know how very different each one of us are and that our bodies will react differently to meds, alternative treatments, supplements, etc. But since I took my trials from trials of other fibromites, maybe mine can help you too. They are not expensive but worth their weight in gold!

Magnesium is a must. I haven’t seen one person say that it made things worse, only better. So naturally I started taking it a couple years ago.  I noticed the muscle spasms subsided immensely. Yes, I still get them, but they are less frequent and less intense than they used to be. I take 500mg every day, if I’m having a rough week I will increase it to 1,000mg. My Father has some hand tremor issues that I noticed over a year ago, I did some research and found that adding it to his diet could help so I asked him to try it and low and behold, his tremors are almost gone. People even comment to him that he no longer shakes so much! yay for Magnesium! If you decide to try it, please google it and do some research on it before you start. It can cause tummy trouble and if you have IBS, like me, then you don’t need any more tummy troubles! But I take it with food and I have not had any trouble. There are different types that you can try if so.

B-100 complex – this one is a Godsend! I am sure that I would not leave the bed at least a couple of days out of every week without it. I have energy! If I think I’m getting sluggish I can not take it for a day or two and I get a quick reminder of exactly how it’s effecting my body and my energy level. It also helps with anxiety issues, PMS, and many other things. Go get some! I would also suggest you do your research on this before starting it. I cannot imagine not having my B’s in my body every day! I also double up on them during stressful times (when I know they are coming) and during my period, they seem to help the PMS a little more.

L-lysine – this one you’ve read about, if you follow my blog. If you haven’t read it, click on it and it’ll take you to my blog about antivirals.  You will also see a comment that was left by a fellow blogger about side effects that Lysine can cause.  I am working on some more research on that. I certainly don’t need any future issues caused by a supplement that I’m not positive has made a huge difference in my life yet. I need more time and information before this one becomes an every day, long term supplement.

Melatonin – This little gem I will NEVER be without! It’s super cheap but it’s worth a million bucks to me! I took sleeping pill after sleeping pill, always woke up groggy with a hangover feeling, but not taking them meant getting very little to no sleep which definitely makes things worse. My Aunt was visiting and she had a bottle, we got to talking about it and she left me 10 pills to try out. I took  2 the first night (6mg) and slept like a baby! I woke up refreshed and happy that I had slept all night again! I now start with one capsule (3mg) and if I don’t get sleepy within an hour or so, I’ll take one more. Rarely do I need 2, unless it’s been on overly crazy day for me. $3.50 for a bottle of 60…you can’t beat that!

Acidophilus – is a probiotic, I take this when my IBS starts to flair. I take it for heartburn, I take it for tummy aches, I take it for health. It’s a probiotic…it does fabulous things for you! Love it!

I’ve tried many many other things but these are the supplements I take daily and I wouldn’t trade them for the world. I’m always on the lookout for more supplements that can make me healthier, happier and stronger. I’ve recently read about Pulsatilla and Arnica but haven’t done much research on them. If you take them, I’d love to hear your thoughts on them. I also read on a blog about Natures Way Alive Multivitamins. I don’t presently take a multivitamin, but probably should!

I usually get my D’s from the sun, but with the weather being so crappy of late, I’m debating going and getting some Ds to see if it’ll lift my spirits a bit! Since the sun just refuses to cooperate!

http://www.fda.gov/forconsumers/consumerupdates/ucm118079.htm

About fibrorelief

I was diagnosed with FMS, IBS and CFS 3 yrs ago and after trying all the medications, I've been determined to find relief naturally. View all posts by fibrorelief

Leave a Reply

