anti viral medications…do they work?

I don’t know if this is another accidental finding or just a coincidence, so I thought I’d ask anyone that may stop by to tell me if they’ve tried anti viral medications for their Fibromyalgia symtoms.  The possible finding was that I had been blessed with one of the largest, most painful cold sore I’ve ever had in my life in September, Lucky me, I know! I treated this nasty booger with everything I had on hand, zovirax, cold sore creams and nothing was working. The pain was excruciating! I did some research online, because apparently that’s what I do but that’s another story, and found the natural anti viral supplement L-Lysine and I ran to Mother’s Market to get me a bottle. People swore by this stuff…for all kinds of things but mostly for the cold sore, online people know everything!

Long story somewhat shorter…the directions for the Lysine said you can take a regular daily dose to ward off future cold sore outbreaks, so I was taking 1,000 mg a day after it was completely gone. I was feeling really good, all over, after that nasty little booger went away and I noticed the change, but I had also added the magnesium back in so I gave it all the credit.  I stopped taking the Lysine right before that horrible flare I had for a week, I don’t know why I quit taking it..I think there’s  a weird thing in my head that only allows me to take 3 or 4 pills a day and that one got booted from the list. I’ll have to work on that little ‘eccentricity’ of  mine! haha!

Concentrate…back to question….has anyone ever talked to a Dr about anti virals? tried natural supplements with anti viral properties? Ever even hear of using anti virals to treat FMS symptoms at all?

Here’s some links I found on the subject;

There’s alot more, but you can google it if you want to read more.  One of these was written in 2004, which makes me want to believe that this either doesn’t work or not enough people know about it. Being the pessimist that I am, I’m guessing that if it was that good at relieving symptoms people would know about it. Regardless, I’m gonna start the Lysine again in the morning and see what happens. This time I haven’t started any other new supplements to mess with my theory testing!

About fibrorelief

I was diagnosed with FMS, IBS and CFS 3 yrs ago and after trying all the medications, I've been determined to find relief naturally. View all posts by fibrorelief

4 responses to “anti viral medications…do they work?

  • Lisa Hellen

    My Mother take L-Lysine every day to ward off cold sores and it works!
    I remember as a kid she got them often, now, its never.

    How is it going with the fibro symptoms? Are you still taking it?

    • fibrorelief

      Yes I started taking it again. I wish I could attribute feeling better to just that, I’m just not sure. I take magnesium, Vit B 12 complex and Lysine. Even through my menstrual cycle this month, I’m not feeling HORRIBLE. I’m certainly thankful for that! Usually I’m in bed the entire 5 days! I’m going to say it’s helping, because I’ve been on the other things for months and haven’t felt this good. Now if I can only get rid of the daily headaches! I’d be in good shape. Not great…but I’m ok with good! 😉

      • Lisa Hellen

        I take magnesuim, b-12, and a few other things too, forever now it seems. Perhaps I’ll try adding L-Lysine and see how I do.

        Hope you feel better soon!

  • swtyneha33

    Awesome! I like your starting words to keep the visitor stay and read your full blog post. Anyhow the overall post is really informative and contains tons of knowledgeable factors. Thank u so much for sharing this post.I wanna share some information about certified pharmaceutical company for you.Please visit:
    certified pharmaceutical company

Leave a Reply

