Winter

The winter came, I lived in Colorado at the time, and I was so miserable that I literally spent at least 1 month of the 3 winter months in my bed, crying, wishing for a new body, wishing for anything that could make the pain go away. I had to get on FMLA at work, I lost many hours and pay. My co-workers started treating me differently and whispering behind my back. People would make comments like ‘you look better today, that was a quick recovery from yesterday’ I didn’t explain, I couldn’t and I honestly didn’t feel I needed to but this definitely added to the stress factor. Winter was horrible; cold makes me shiver uncontrollably, inside..hard to explain, but it’s very uncomfortable and it makes every muscle in my body incredibly tight and sore. I wore 3 pairs of socks, long johns, 2 or 3 shirts, coats and gloves and scarves. Then the minute I got inside I had to strip it all off before the hot flashes started. It was the worst winter of my entire life. The rain, which I have always loved so very much, was also now my nemesis. I could tell if it was going to rain hours before it came down. My whole body felt swollen and painful and the headaches would be horrible.

We moved to Cali at the end of August 2009 after one of our many vacations here. My Wife, Son and I came out for a week. I felt great! I thought maybe it was just due to the lack of stress on vacations. We rode bikes for 2 hours, without significant pain and I didn’t hurt like hell the next day. I was in shock! and ever so happy! I couldn’t bear the thought of another winter in Colorado so we moved. It’s been an incredible adjustment since all of my family is back in Colorado, but health wise…I’m pretty much a new person…of course there’s more to it than the sun and no snow…but I’ll get into that later.

About fibrorelief

I was diagnosed with FMS, IBS and CFS 3 yrs ago and after trying all the medications, I've been determined to find relief naturally. View all posts by fibrorelief

Leave a Reply

