Meds

Over the next year she put me on Lyrica, which did nothing more than add an extra 25 pounds I certainly didn’t need.I think I tried 2 or 3 other antidepressants with no relief.

Increased my Amatryptelline, nothing.

I tried Oxycontin which took the edge off but also made me very nauseous. Roxycodone which did the same thing.

Vicodin, did nothing.

More muscle relaxers than I care to type about,which just made me sleepy and I couldn’t drive on them. Therefore, I couldn’t take while at work. Unhelpful

Xanax which definitely helped me relax and if I took enough of it, starting when I got up in the morning, it helped quite well, but again made me very sleepy and drugged to the point of not being able to concentrate very well. Hard to work that way!

Ultram, Valium, And the list goes on….I honestly don’t remember everything I tried. I was taking anywhere from 6-18 pills a day!

I had 2 trips to the ER because the pain was so bad that I couldn’t even lie in bed without significant pain, no lights, no sound due to the migraine – it was too much. I have an incredibly high pain tolerance and I couldn’t believe that I had to go to the ER for morphine, Dilaudid or anything else just to dull the pain for something that no one could see. It never ever went away, it only made it more bearable.

Now I’m a fairly cranky person to begin with, I really didn’t need annoying pain on top of it, but to add fuel to the fire I was no longer sleeping. Oh the frustration! Let’s throw a pill at it…Serequel. I was super happy to be sleeping but definitely NOT happy with the horrible new fibro fog I had acquired on top of the ‘hangover’ the Serequel left me in the morning.

I took myself off all meds after a foot surgery I had in the summer of 2009. I just couldn’t handle taking so many meds that seemed to do nothing for me. I found it pointless, expensive and more stressful than not.  I took Aleve as needed which at least dulled a headache, though it never did anything for tender points or any other ‘phantom pain’ I was having on any given day.

It’s time to try a more natural approach.

About fibrorelief

I was diagnosed with FMS, IBS and CFS 3 yrs ago and after trying all the medications, I've been determined to find relief naturally. View all posts by fibrorelief

Leave a Reply

