Diagnosis

February 2008 – Diagnosis

I had bronchitis (I’ve had asthma since I was a child and I get it 2 times a year without fail), had been to the Dr 2 times within a week for antibiotics, steroids, etc. She had put me on a new antibiotic and I thought I was having side effects to the drug. My thighs hurt so bad that I could barely sit in a chair and if I touched them, I felt like I would cry at any second. I googled the medication and found that it has side effects with muscle issues, so I assumed that was the problem.

My Dr took me off this medication and put me on something that I had used many times previously, but the pain persisted and seemed to spread over other areas of my body. I had no idea what was going on and I was actually scared, thinking the worst. I saw her again a week or so again later and she did some other tests…blood draws, etc. I guess I got lucky with this particular Dr because she actually knew about Fibromyalgia. I’ve read horror stories of people going years without a diagnosis…going to psychiatrists even, thinking it was all in their head. Anyway..I digress..she did some poking around on my body and promptly said “I’m pretty sure you have Fibromyalgia”  I had never even heard of it before this very moment. I just stared at her blankly as she began to explain. I don’t really recall much she said after than that, other than the fact that there was no cure and that I would always have pain and she would help me however she could to control the pain.

I had migraines and stress headaches for many years, had been to chiropractors and put on Amatryptilline for 4 years, I was told it was due to the fact that my shoulders and glutes were always tight. I had an incredibly stressful job,  I was getting older, I was a bit overweight, I thought the pain and headaches was all just part of that, so what…who doesn’t have all of these issues?! I thought wrong

I left the Dr’s office and called my Wife to tell her of my diagnosis, Fibromyalgia Syndrome. Neither of us knew anything about it..what do we do? What does this mean?

Google….sometimes it’s great and amazingly helpful, but sometimes it can be sensory overload and incredibly stressful! Two things I didn’t need at that moment. I sat in my office reading about Fibromyalgia with my mouth on the floor….how could this happen to me?

About fibrorelief

I was diagnosed with FMS, IBS and CFS 3 yrs ago and after trying all the medications, I've been determined to find relief naturally. View all posts by fibrorelief

One response to “Diagnosis

Leave a Reply

